for the persecuted

I have been sleep deprived lately. I find myself in deep thought until the weee hours of the night. What exactly have I been pondering on?

ASIA.

As I write this four-letter word, I feel so many emotions all at the same time! I am excited, yet burdened by the vastness of our beloved continent. I am convinced that God has great plans for us, but I am worried at the extravagance of the sacrifices that have to be made.

All throughout the book of Acts, we read about the extensive exploits and the bewildering miracles of the disciples. We read about the great number of believers that were added daily through them. We read about the spread of the Kingdom of God, like wild forest fire, through the Roman empire. Yes, the mighty move of the Holy Ghost during the early believers’ time astonishes me, but what amazes me more is the amount of sacrifices that had to be made.

Persecution. Scorn. Living like nomads, moving from one place to another because of threats. Ambush. Shipwreck. Imprisonment. Torture. And eventually, death by martyrdom.

These were the sacrifices of the early believer. They faced these things daily, but what did they do? They fled for safety, BUT CONTINUED TO PREACH THE GOSPEL WHEREVER THEY WENT.

I believe this is a word for the believers in Asia, where many face the same things everyday for being a Christian. This is a word for the Indian Christians, who have suffered fire, flogging, and loss at the hands of Hindu extremists. This is a word for the young men and women and children of Indonesia who have suffered beating, rejection, and scorn for loving Jesus. This is a word for the Chinese and North Korean disciples of Christ who have suffered pain, wounds, and imprisonment from communist governments. To all in Asia who are suffering for the cause of Christ, thus saith the Lord,

“You’re blessed when your commitment to God provokes persecution. The persecution drives you even deeper into God’s kingdom.” – Matthew 5:10

Yours is the Kingdom of heaven! All authority has been given to you! The keys to the Kingdom of God are yours!

I charge thee, continue to preach the Gospel. Know that all of you are in our prayers daily, and we weep and wail to the Lord for your protection! We are experiencing revival because of your willingness to follow Christ no matter what the cost, and I believe an even greater revival is coming to the whole continent of Asia!

As I write this, I am in tears. Tears of sorrow for your circumstances, but also tears of joy for the reward that awaits you! Thank you to all of you and we love you with all honesty, sincerity, and genuineness.

“Even when the way goes through Death Valley, I’m not afraid when You walk at my side. Your trusty shepherd’s crook makes me feel secure.” – Psalm 23:4 [The MSG]

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention for the persecuted « ASIA for JESUS -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

